Rave Reviews!

The Haunting

SILVER-medal-2019-colour-with-bleed.jpg

This book was entered in The Wishing Shelf Book Awards. This is what our readers thought: 

Title: The Haunting 

Author: Kristin A. Fulton 

Star Rating: 5 Stars 

Number of Readers: 20 

Stats 

Editing: 10/10 

Writing Style: 10/10 

Content: 10/10 

Cover: 10/10 

Of the 20 readers: 

20 would read another book by this author. 

20 thought the cover was good or excellent. 

20 felt it was easy to follow. 

20 would recommend this story to another reader to try. 

Of all the readers, 13 felt the author’s strongest skill was ‘plotting a story’. 

Of all the readers, 7 felt the author’s strongest skill was ‘developing the characters’. 

20 felt the pacing was good or excellent. 

20 thought the author understood the readership and what they wanted. 

Readers’ Comments 

This book was so cool. I loved it.’ Girl, aged 9 

‘I loved how they save the orphanage with the help of the ghost. The Whipley twins were so bad. I’m glad the orphans stood up to them in the end.’ Boy, aged 11 

‘A very enjoyable adventure story, perfect for 9 – 12 year olds, showcasing the importance of working together to overcome a problem. The twins were outrageously nasty adding a Roald Dahl feel to the story. Chance is an excellent hero kids can relate to: honest and brave. The children in my class of ten year olds enjoyed it as a class reader.’ Primary teacher, aged 43 

‘I loved the old orphanage with all the secret passageways. I wouldn’t want to be an orphan but I think Miss May was very good to them. It was a clever story. I also laughed in parts. I will read another book by this writer if I can find one.’ Girl aged 10 – with a little help from her teacher 

To Sum It Up: 

‘An exciting story packed full of ghostly twists and turns. A SILVER MEDAL WINNER and highly recommended.’ The Wishing Shelf Book Awards 

More reviews for The Haunting

Amazon Customer

5.0 out of 5 stars

 The story is just plain fun!

Reviewed in the United States on July 2, 2018

Verified Purchase

The Haunting, by Kristin Fulton, contains a perfect amount of old-fashioned edge-of-the-seat excitement. Ghosts? Why not? The story is just plain fun, filled with a light touch of suspense, twists and turns, and delightful illustrations. A good read-aloud while on a road trip with the family, or for the pre-teen ready to curl up and spend some time immersed in a story where kids are the heroes.

 

denella kimura

5.0 out of 5 stars

 The Haunting Truth

Reviewed in the United States on June 23, 2018

 

Chance Jameson, an almost 13-year-old orphan at the Oak Hill Orphanage, discovers that he is able to see ghosts the day the orphanage director, Miss May, dies. That is the day the twin cousins, Ida and Stanford Whipley, have arrived to take over the orphanage for profit. Miss May knows, but because she has died, she must reveal herself to Chance. Her ghost reveals the secret passages and peep-holes used to hide escaped slaves on the underground railroad after the Civil War as a way to learn what is really happening. Chance and his friends Sarah, Juan and Jillian, conspire with the Miss May and fellow spirit, Zachariah, to stage a "haunting" in order to get rid of the odious twins. As an older adult, I found this a fun read, and something I would like to share with my grandkids. I like to pre-read books I might give to a first through fifth grader. I like that Chance tries to tell the truth, but at first no one believes him. It is an important value to teach kids. "Haunting" hits the enjoyment factor on many levels.

 

Cindy Roberts

5.0 out of 5 stars

 The Haunting is a delightful book that I recommend for readers of all ages!

Reviewed in the United States on July 9, 2018

 

The Haunting is a really fun read! I bought a copy for my granddaughter, who was 9 at the time, but wanted to read it first. I was delighted to find that I couldn't wait to find out what would happen next! The characters are believable and the villains are really villainous! My granddaughter read it independently and loved it. More recently I discovered The Haunting is a wonderful read-aloud book. My 5 year-old grandson listened enthusiastically.

From Suzan Still—author of Well in Time, Fiesta of Smoke, Commune of Women
.....................................................................................
THE HAUNTING

The Haunting, by Kristin A. Fulton, is a middle grade novel that is fun for readers of all ages. The book follows Chance Jameson, a delightfully inquisitive and adventuresome boy whom fate has made an orphan. Housed at Oak Hill Orphanage, he is happily involved with his fellow orphans and his beloved teachers. Until, that is, the arrival of the Whipley twins, who take over the running of the orphanage.

What happens from that point on is a study in both the misery brought about by adult greed and unkindness, and in the courage and inventiveness of the children, who are aided by the disembodied presence of one of their favorite—but very much dead—teachers, Miss May. How the children overcome their adversaries makes for a tale filled with intrigue and humor.

Fulton has brought just the right, light touch to a story that still rests in important verities: greed and lack of compassion on one hand, played off against love and loyalty on the other. Facing life with pluck and imagination, courage and esprit de corps, the orphans present a wonderful role model for any reader. Charming illustrations by Molly Hart add playful embellishment to a tale very well told. I recommend The Haunting as fine summer reading for anyone, children, young adults and adults alike.

More Rave Reviews!

snake  food

FINALIST-medal-2019-colour-with-bleed.jpg

This book was entered in The Wishing Shelf Book Awards. This is what our readers thought: 

Title: Snake Food 

Author: Kristin A. Fulton 

Star Rating: 5 Stars 

Number of Readers: 17 

Stats 

Editing: 8/10 

Writing Style: 8/10 

Content: 9/10 

Cover: 9/10 

Of the 17 readers: 

15 would read another book by this author. 

15 thought the cover was good or excellent. 

17 felt it was easy to follow. 

16 would recommend this story to another reader to try. 

Of all the readers, 12 felt the author’s strongest skill was ‘plotting a story’. 

Of all the readers, 5 felt the author’s strongest skill was ‘developing the characters’. 

14 felt the pacing was good or excellent. 

15 thought the author understood the readership and what they wanted. 

Readers’ Comments 

‘This is a super cool adventure story. I liked lots of things in it. I thought the best character was Theo. There is a good mystery from the start as the children discover the professor is not at the old house. I liked how the three children work together to solve the mystery. This is a good book.’ Girl, aged 11 

‘Good book. I loved the picture of the snake on the front. I loved how the mystery start so soon in the book and I couldn’t guess what was going to happen.’ Boy, aged 12 

‘Excellent story for 10 – 13 year olds. With an Enid Blyton feel to it, this went down well in my classroom. The children 

characters were relatable and the plot twisted and turned, keeping the reader guessing.’ Teacher, aged 53 

‘The characters develops well, but it’s the plot that is best.’ Girl, aged 12 

To Sum It Up: 

‘An exciting, fun and totally unpredictable adventure story. A FINALIST and highly recommended.’ The Wishing Shelf Book Awards 

Amazon Reviews, United States

 

Amazon Customer

5.0 out of 5 stars

 To the rescue!

Reviewed in the United States on July 2, 2018

Verified Purchase

Snake Food, by Kristin Fulton, offers the reader anticipation and adventure. The trio of youth is endearing with their interactions and problem-solving. I so enjoyed the touch of suspense, the illustrations and the charming style with which Ms. Fulton writes. It's a great read-aloud family book, or a good read for pre-teens.

 

Helpful

Report abuse

 

Elise Curry

5.0 out of 5 stars

 Snake Food is a winner!

Reviewed in the United States on July 26, 2016

Verified Purchase

Great story and great writing!

 

Helpful

Report abuse

 

denella kimura

5.0 out of 5 stars

 All is Not What they Seem in this Mystery!

Reviewed in the United States on June 23, 2018

 

In the novel, "Snake Food," Olivia (14) and Theo (11) are sent under protest to their Uncle Austin Hazelsmith's country house for the summer. But when they arrive, their uncle Austin, a famous professor, inventor, and scientist, is missing and the house, whose basement holds caged arachnids and exotic snakes, was in firm possession of two unfriendly strangers who claim to be the professor's hired help. Theo and Olivia rightly sense that things are amiss, and with the help of a neighbor, Will, they try to solve the mystery of their missing uncle and to keep the two strangers from achieving their deadly goal of world domination. I really enjoyed this book designed for pre-teens ages 10 to 15. While the story begins realistically, there is a switch to fantasy when it comes to the plot of the story. I like that Olivia matures through this story from a selfish girl to a caring young lady who begins to value people for who they are rather than appearances.

 

Helpful

Report abuse

 

Connie Tate, Ed.D.

5.0 out of 5 stars

 Where, oh where is Uncle Austin?!

Reviewed in the United States on December 2, 2019

 

I bought Snake Food for my granddaughter, Wren. Wren highly recommends this book and we both give it 5 stars! An imposed summer stay at Uncle Austin’s turns into adventure of a lifetime! Olivia and her younger brother Theo as well as neighbor Will ban together to investigate Uncle Austin’s disappearance. Engaging vocabulary, problem-solving, and villains; a must read!

 

Helpful

Report abuse

 

Lucky to be alive!

5.0 out of 5 stars

 This is such a well-written book! The language will ...

Reviewed in the United States on March 22, 2018

 

This is such a well-written book! The language will challenge children enough to keep them interested and learning at the same time.

From Suzan Still—author of Well in Time, Fiesta of Smoke, Commune of Women

SNAKE FOOD

Snake Food, by Kristin A. Fulton, is a story of a summer vacation gone awry. Olivia Hazelsmith and her younger brother, Theo, have plans of their own, when their parents, both doctors, suddenly announce that they are going off to Africa to assist in a disaster. The children are to stay with their Uncle Austin, a plan which leaves both of them quite disgruntled. When they arrive at his sprawling home in Bedford Falls, they are in no mood for what befalls them.

Instead of Uncle Austin, they are met by his housekeeper, Mrs. Zelinsky, who informs them sourly that their uncle has gone off on a sailing trip. With nowhere else to go, the siblings decide to stay and await their uncle’s return. Soon, they meet Vladimir Trokov, a lab assistant to their uncle, who is no more welcoming that Mrs. Zelinsky. Something is definitely odd about these two, Olivia and Theo agree, but what is really going on?

The answers will take them through the heart of their uncle’s strange old house, into his secret laboratories, and into a dilemma that is very scary, indeed. Aided by their new friend Will, Olivia and Theo demonstrate intelligence and courage in solving a near-lethal mystery and in bringing justice to the criminals responsible.

Fulton has created an atmosphere of both menace and adolescent camaraderie that will keep readers of all ages turning the pages of Snake Food. Charming illustrations by Molly Hart lend extra vitality to the tale. A must-read for lovers of mysteries and of a tale well told.

Even more Rave Reviews!

Sisters of the Soul

Readers' Favorite review.

Overall Opinion: The overall starred rating takes into account all these elements and

describes the overall reading experience of your reviewer. This is

5 the official Readers' Favorite review rating for your book.

Review: Reviewed by Saifunnissa Hassam for Readers' Favorite

Kristin Fulton's historical novel Sisters of the Soul is about the

lifelong bond between Elizabeth Dumond and Sophie Washington.

The story begins in Louisiana in 1837 and ends in California in

1906. Elizabeth is the adopted daughter of Hugo and Lucille Laurent

of the Sweetbrier Plantation in Louisiana. Sophie is a slave in the

Laurent household. Elizabeth and Sophie grow up as sisters and

friends. The lives of both women are shattered in brutal and

humiliating ways by Bert Laurent who inherits his parents' estate.

The women flee from Sweetbrier. Elizabeth's experience in horseriding,

hunting and fishing, and Sophie’s field skills and cooking

enable them to survive their trek westwards to California. In San

Francisco, their Wayside Inn prospers. Sophie lives for some years

in Canada with Elizabeth's daughter Rose and her husband. A family

tragedy brings Rose and her daughter Aurora to San Francisco to be

reunited with Elizabeth and Sophie.

I loved Kristin Fulton's novel Sisters of the Soul because of the

strong characters and how the author centers her story around the

bond between Elizabeth and Sophie even as they face life’s

turbulent challenges and difficult choices. I liked Fulton’s vivid

writing as she describes the tension and dramatic changes on the

plantation through another strong character: the vicious and brutal

Bert Laurent. Fulton writes imaginatively of the women's journey to

California, their courage and fear. I enjoyed the themes of love and

forgiveness that run through the story even as characters have

bitter quarrels and drift apart. I liked the honesty and frankness

between Elizabeth and Sophie. Fulton has created a very loving and

perceptive character in Sophie, and she is the key to the mother-daughter

reconciliation. A deeply moving tale indeed!

Amazon Reviews for Sisters of the Soul

sisters reviews on amazon as of 10/21/21

From the United States

 

Paul & Mary Gjerde

5.0 out of 5 stars

 Kristin Fulton's first adult novel surpasses expectations!

Reviewed in the United States on April 22, 2019

Verified Purchase

“Wow” just begins to express my feelings after reading Kristin Fulton’s novel, Sisters of the Soul! What a story teller she is. I can’t begin to imagine having what it must take to write a novel of such proportions. Her very believable characters experience the realities of history as the novel’s setting moves across the U.S. I’m definitely recommending Sisters of the Soul to our book club!..............Mary Gjerde, Columbia, CA

As an 81 year old curmudgeon, I was skeptical about reading Sisters of the Soul by Kristin Fulton, a book my wife had just completed. I had the feeling that it was a “chick book.” After sitting down and starting to read, I found this novel hard to put down. The characters she developed and their brush with history makes it an interesting story and a fun read!.............Paul Gjerde, Columbia, CA

 

Helpful

Report abuse

 

mary mooney

5.0 out of 5 stars

 Sisters of the soul

Reviewed in the United States on May 1, 2019

Verified Purchase

I loved this book from the start. I am not a reader, because as soon as I start reading I fall asleep, but not with this book. I could not put it down from wanting to know what was going to happen in the next chapter, and was never disappointed. Each chapter was intriguing. I was especially surprised at the end when Nolan, Robbie, Kate and Aunt Harriet went down with the ship, Valencia. Never expected it to end that way.

 

Helpful

Report abuse

 

Elise Curry

5.0 out of 5 stars

 Exciting adventure story about 2 women

Reviewed in the United States on May 12, 2019

Verified Purchase

Kristin weaves a powerful story about the journey of 2 friends who navigate through the obstacles of male abuse and sexism to arise victorious. Her characters are well developed and full of surprises.

 

Helpful

Report abuse

 

denella kimura

5.0 out of 5 stars

 Friendship, Courage and Forgiveness Make Sisterhood Work and Generations Heal

Reviewed in the United States on August 4, 2020

 

How do two women, Elizabeth Dumond and Spohie Washington become sisters in pre-Civil War Louisiana when one is a slave and the other is white and orphaned? They are raised together as sisters in the black community, then as companions until they were teenagers. This bond took them through the shared horrors until they fled west on a hazardous trail to San Francisco. There their friendship and determination helped them survive the traumas of the past. However, the past often leaves scars, which especially affected Lisa's reactions to her daughter, Rose, who turned to Sophie for needed attention. The rift between Lisa and Rose lasted into her adulthood. And the sisterhood faced challenges. It took an earthquake to bring about reconciliation and forgiveness. The story is riveting; the book was hard to put down once begun. Loved the resolution of the story lines. A very satisfying read for a hot summer day and a glass of ice tea. Five stars for a gripping story line and fabulous characters.

 

Helpful

Report abuse

 

IndigoMoonArts

5.0 out of 5 stars

 Grab some water or tea...and maybe a hankie too!

Reviewed in the United States on May 17, 2019

 

You're going to need them to stay hydrated because you won't want to put this book down. Better grab some snacks too for that matter!

This is a book that will grab you from the start, and keep you in it's grip until the last pages. This story about two very different women, one black slave and one white orphan, spans over 60 years, and tells the story of their lives from the 1800s to the beginning of the 1900s, right through the great San Fransisco earthquake in 1906.

A heartbreaking tale of brutal truth, love and honor found and lost, and in the end, redemption, love and sisterhood, you will weep and laugh. This book will make you appreciate what hardships some women in the past endured to make life better for others, themselves and those that they loved. A truly great read!

Thank you Kristin for gifting the world with your amazing storytelling talent!

 

 

Helpful

Report abuse

 

Kindle Customer

5.0 out of 5 stars

 Resilient Women

Reviewed in the United States on May 5, 2019

 

This book held my interest from start to finish. The story follows two courageous women as they escape from the violence of a Southern plantation through the dangers of travel to California in the mid 1800's and the lives they adopt in the bustling city of San Francisco. Each new character is developed and then fleshed out in full as the pair narrate the events that followed their perilous journey. The reader follows themes of race, class, and transformation throughout. Kristin Fulton has written a well researched and enjoyable tale and I would recommend it highly.

 

Helpful

Report abuse

 

Princess

5.0 out of 5 stars

 Great book written by excellent story teller.

Reviewed in the United States on October 19, 2019

 

Interesting story, wonderfully told by multiple narrators who add a fresh perspective in every chapter. It is easy to love, hate, sympathize and identity with the often deeply flawed characters. Read this book! You won't be sorry. My favorite character is Nolan. Everyone deserves to have a Nolan in their life.

 

Helpful

Report abuse

 

Suzanne, Columbia CA

5.0 out of 5 stars

 The historical aspect of this novel is wonderful!

Reviewed in the United States on December 14, 2019

 

From page 1 this book captivated me. The character developments were so intriguing as many years were covered, and the characters matured during that time. The plot was interesting, and I enjoyed the locales - the South, the Pacific Northwest, and San Francisco. Our book group chose to read this book and we had an enriching discussion about all aspects of the book. We hope for more novels from Kristin!

 

Helpful

Report abuse

 

Cynthia McGuffin

5.0 out of 5 stars

 Great read!

Reviewed in the United States on January 1, 2020

 

I loved this book and recommended it to my book club. Kristin created a very believable story that was hard to put down! I loved both main characters and learned a lot of history too. I can't wait to read what she writes next!

 

Helpful

Report abuse

 

Justy Ragan

5.0 out of 5 stars

 That Kristin also wrote two books kids would love.

Reviewed in the United States on April 21, 2019

 

I loved the book, it was a page turner for sure. I thought it was obviously researched for accuracy for the times. Kristin Fulton is a gifted author.